As an academic Reference Librarian, I work directly with “Millennials”. I worked for several years as a paraprofessional library assistant at Dartmouth College, and I was struck at the time at how self-absorbed and entitled many of the students were. I thought this was simply because they were privileged ivy league students. But now that I work with a broad smattering of young people at a small, Catholic college, I realize these narcissistic traits are not unique to privileged students. Professor Jean Twenge discusses this phenomenon in her book, Generation Me: Why Today’s Young Americans are More Confident, Assertive, Entitled–and More Miserable Than Ever Before. She argues that the “self-esteem movement” has not only given this generation more confidence (which is good), but also a sense of entitlement that has simply gone too far. Check out this msnbc video interview with Professor Jean Twenge. “I am special, I am special. Look at me, look at me” . . . sung to the tune of Frere Jacques. The Millennials themselves disagree with Professor Twenge’s book: Check out this msnbc video.

