Exercise 21 is “Discover some useful search tools for locating podcasts.”  According to the exercise write-up,  “The word podcast is used to refer to a non-musical audio or video broadcast that is distributed over the Internet. What differentiates a podcast from regular streaming audio or video is that the delivery method for podcasts is often done automatically through RSS.”  I wondered how a podcast was different from regular streaming video and audio.
I just came across this podcast from California State University, Fullerton on how to use the CINAHL database.  Since it’s an audio-only podcast, I found it very difficult to follow.  Here’s the Vodcast (video and audio combined) version.  This is a great example of how teaching is much more effective when a teacher presents material utilizing both auditory and visual elements.  If this vodcast was followed up by having the students use the CINAHL database, then they would surely understand how to use if effectively:  “I hear and I forget.  I see and I remember.  I do and I understand.” –Confucius

