Exercise 23 is “Summarize your thoughts about this program on your blog.”  I’m finally finished with the 23 Things!  It took me just over a month to complete, and was well worth it.  The program was designed by the Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County in North Carolina and allowed me to increase and expand my knowledge about the world of Web 2.0 at my own pace.  I would highly recommend the exercises to anyone–not just librarians.

Michael Stephens, a Librarian and Blogger, states that the progressive “librarian understands that the future of libraries will be guided by how users access, consume and create content.”  And, since I know the future of libraries will be driven by Web 2.0 technology, I need to continue to use and learn about these tools.  Libraries are becoming more “user-centric” and Web 2.0 technology fits perfectly into this new model.

There are many “things” that I discovered while doing these exercises, but one of my favorites is the Kept-Up Academic Librarian Blog.  It’s a great blog to help you “keep up” with trends and happenings in academic libraries.  Setting up a feed reader, like My Yahoo, with RSS Feeds to sites that are of interest to you is also a great way to keep your finger on the pulse of happenings–all from one place.  I would like to experiment with using YouTube and other free video hosting sites to create library tutorials as I have seen their great potential to reach Millennial students.  If you’re thinking about doing the 23 things, do not hesitate!

