The holidays are over, and the new year has arrived.  The beginning of a new year is the perfect time to develop an exercise routine.  My advice:  keep it simple, or you simply will not stick with it.  I suggest doing a form of exercise that you enjoy and will be able to maintain throughout your life–no matter how old you are.  Brisk walking is my favorite exercise, but you might also try biking or swimming–all forms of exercise that are highly effective and gentle on your joints.

Develop a regular time and place for your exercise, and this way you will be more apt to stick with it.  A regular 30 minute daily routine is much more effective than only exercising when you have lots of time.

What’s my routine?  I get up early and start my day with about 30 minutes of gentle yoga followed by alternating abdominal strengthening exercises every other day and a few free weight exercises (including push-ups) on the other days.  And I try to get out for a brisk 30-45 minute walk at least 5 days a week.  This is a fairly simple routine that I will be able to maintain throughout my life.  Yoga is great for the mind, body, and spirit.  Addominal exercises help to protect your back.  Strength training exercises with free weights keep your muscles strong.  And walking briskly keeps your heart fit.  Develop a routine that will maintain your whole body–inside and out.

