One of my work study students who I supervise at our newly formed Reference/Helpdesk informed me that she is renting most of her textbooks this semester to save money.  Now that is a great idea!  With tuition costs soaring, students need all the financial assistance they can find.  Chegg.com and BookRenter.com are currently dominating the market, but there are other companies jumping on this profitable bandwagon as well.  Students can also access free open-source textbooks from companies such as Flat World Knowledge.  Check out this news story from the Times Union, a paper based out of Albany, New York.  I am definitely going to inform my students of these wonderful new money saving services in my library classes.  Any librarian who informs their students how they can save money during their college years is most certainly going to be their ally.

